Skip to content

Undergraduate Council

Responsibilities & Composition

Undergraduate education is a major mission of the University. The Undergraduate Council, working closely with colleges, departments, and programs, is responsible for many of the policies that shape our the education of students at the University of Utah. Members of the Council are elected from a broad range of colleges and departments that offer undergraduate degrees along with representatives from ASUU, the Library, and other areas that work closely with undergraduate education. The Council works best when it promotes a lively exchange of views on policies vital to the education of students.

The Council is responsible for coordinating and encouraging the development of undergraduate studies across the University and overseeing all university-wide undergraduate requirements. It is charged with maintaining a program of general education and other graduation requirements in cooperation with the academic departments and colleges. The Council reviews and evaluates proposals for new certificates, degrees, and undergraduate programs not located in or associated with graduate programs. Additionally, the Undergraduate Council collaborates with the Graduate Council in reviewing undergraduate programs based in departments that award graduate degrees. The Undergraduate Council also serves as the selection committee for University Professor and for the McMurrin Distinguished Visiting Professor.

Meeting Schedule

Undergraduate Council meetings are held on the first and third Thursdays of the month from 1:30 – 3:00pm during the academic year. The Council will alternate meeting in person at the Winder Boardroom in the Park Building and on Zoom.

Fall 2023 Meetings

  • Thursday, September 7th at 1:30 – 3:00pm (in person)
  • Thursday, September 21st at 1:30 - 3:00pm (zoom)
  • Thursday, October 5th at 1:30 – 3:00pm (in person)
  • Thursday, October 19th at 1:30 - 3:00pm (zoom)
  • Thursday, November 2nd at 1:30 - 3:00pm (in person)
  • Thursday, November 16th at 1:30 - 3:00pm (zoom)
  • Thursday, December 7th at 1:30 - 3:00pm (in person)

Spring 2024 Meetings

  • Thursday, January 18th at 1:30 - 3:00PM (zoom)
  • Thursday, February 1st at 1:30 – 3:00pm (in person)
  • Thursday, February 15th at 1:30 – 3:00pm (zoom)
  • Thursday, March 21st at 1:30 – 3:00pm (zoom)
  • Thursday, April 4th at 1:30 – 3:00pm (in person)
  • Thursday, April 18th at 1:30 – 3:00pm (zoom)
  • Thursday, May 2nd at 1:30 – 3:00pm (if needed)

Council Roster

Karen Paisley
Chair Undergraduate Studies/Parks, Recreation & Tourism
Cheryl Armstrong
Member Nursing
Pete Lippert
Member Geology & Geophysics
Kevin Wortman
Member Mathematics
Connor Warner
Member Urban Institute for Teacher Education
Adrienne Cachelin
Member Environmental & Sustainability Studies
Melissa Zahl
Member Occupational/Recreational Therapy
Lazarus Adua
Member Sociology
Steven Chodoriwsky
Member Architecture + Planning
Talia Dajes
Member World Languages & Cultures
Stephanie Bank
Member Social Work
Marc Calaf
Member Mechanical Engineering
Rachel Hayes-Harb
Member Honors
Jon Stone
Member Humanities
Donn Schaefer
Member Music
Edmund Fong
Member Cultural & Social Transformation
Marnie Powers-Torrey
Member Marriott Library
Lyda Bigelow
Member Entrepreneurship and Strategy
Jordan Gerton
Member Science
Merilee Anderson
Ex officio Continuing Education & Community Engagement
Chase Hagood
Ex officio UGS
Tim Ebner
Ex officio Registrar's/Student Affairs
Beth Howard
Ex officio Academic Advising Center
Rebecca Noonan-Heale
Ex officio UOnline
Katie Ullman
Ex officio Graduate School
Mark St. Andre Ex officio Undergraduate Studies/Office of Learning Outcomes Assessment
Robyn Moreno
Staff Undergraduate Studies
Samuel Judd
Student ASUU
Lizabeth Cowgill
Student ASUU
Madeline Delongh
Student ASUU
Last Updated: 5/15/23